Journeying into the world of herbs and plant-based medicine

by alchemyofherbs

pine-needlesI moved to Charleston, South Carolina about six months ago and I had almost no idea why,  only knowing that I was vaguely drawn here. I was two months post-breakup, heart-broken and lost. I had established my own online design studio (www.alchemy-design-studio.com) a few months prior, but was by no means financially solvent yet from that venture. I went home to Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire to lick my wounds and recover amongst loved-ones. But really, I was a shell of a human when I moved to Charleston. I picked up a really neat writing job with a company based down here in before leaving, and so, without ever having even stepped foot into the city, I packed my bags and my Maine Coon Cat, Pan, and set out on a new adventure.

After a scary but exhilarating couple of months here, I started to slowly but surely find my people. One day, my yoga teacher and friend told me about a 7-month Herbal Apprenticeship that was beginning in January and was being lead by an amazingly-talented and wise woman, and something in my soul gave a leap. “Yes!” my heart and spirit said. And so I followed. And so began my journey into herbal medicine, and perhaps my reason for being here.

I want this to be a living journal of what I learn and discover along the way. Some entries may seem random, some may only have three words… and that’s okay. I am first and foremost writing this for myself, and secondly for my friends and family who are interested in what I’m learning. As I progress, I would be thrilled if my audience could expand to include those also interested in herbs (join in at any time and welcome!) and those who know significantly more about plant-based medicine than I do. I arrive here with the utmost respect for the generations who have come before me who have graciously passed their immense knowledge of herbs down, person to person. If I can play some small role in continuing the passing of this knowledge from one person to the next, then my soul will sing and I will feel a part of the immense web of knowledge that is present but mostly forgotten in our hearts.

Cheers!

With love and light,

Jess